Providing Elevation Opportunities from Lowest Level to the Highest

System of Deletion

I guess yesterday set the stage for my next theme: systems. So I will approach this systematically, and hopefully start posting at the same time of the day, as my brother recommends.

This is just a tip which I have applied successfully at times, and neglected other times. Basically when you’re done with something, get rid of it. The two key areas of application for this are snail mail and e-mail.

For snail mail, I read here (written 2 years ago) how to open junk mail over the trash can, so its gone immediately and permanently, eliminating wasted time: the 2 seconds I’d spend moving it on my desk or looking at it one last time before throwing it away later…

For e-mail, I’m attampting to apply the same idea, by deleting whatever I’m not going to act on, as well as deleting after I act on it (whether replying, or doing what the email says to do)

There’s lots more from Productivith501, but I just wanted to share those two thoughts, quickly, on systematic deletion to simplify life, and of course, to help redeem the time! Plus, I think it’s cool to remember that is how God deals with our sins when we confess them to Him!

Peace,
Adam

4 responses

  1. Don’t forget that the best way to deal with emails you don’t need is to keep them from coming in the first place. I’ve been happy to see what Manilla.com is doing. They collect things that would normally come via USPS or email and put them where you can find them when you need them, but not where they interrupt you during your day.

    August 9, 2011 at 8:11 PM

    • Thanks for taking it up a level Mark! You’re absolutely right! My brother set up a spam quarantine on my email account and it works great! Keep up the good work, you’re stuff is extremely helpful, and I can usually apply it to other areas of my life as well!

      August 10, 2011 at 4:51 AM

  2. Pingback: A System That Saves « Capt Adam "MOOP" Johns – Friend update web-log

  3. awesome blog, do you have twitter or facebook? i will bookmark this page thanks.

    My blog:
    rachat de credits rachatdecredit.net

    August 11, 2011 at 10:28 PM

Leave a comment