Providing Elevation Opportunities from Lowest Level to the Highest

Archive for August 5, 2011

It Really is ALL about Jesus!

20110805-023226.jpg

I’ve listened to several sermons by Mark Driscoll, and he has a series titled “It’s All About Jesus” and I’ve been thinking about this concept for a while now. (That’s what happens to me, I hear something I like and it rattles around in my head until I feel like I’ve shared it with enough people, thus the blogging outlet…)

So here’s what has come of this thought that “it’s all about Jesus”. The questions it makes me ask are numerous including: What is included “all?” Does this mean that my job in the Marine Corps is suppose to be about Jesus? What about my “free time?” And am I living like my life is all about Jesus? How about the Bible, and books like Numbers and Leviticus, is that all about Jesus? And here’s the question I think I’ve thought about the most and even postulated an answer to: “If it’s ALL about Jesus, what was Jesus all about???”

So you can see how something like this gets stuck in my brain right?

My answer to my own question is simple, I believe Jesus was all about relationships! And I mean MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIPS!!! Just look at His interaction with people, specifically His 12 disciples, and more specifically His closest 3 that He spent even more time with, not to mention the time He spent focused on the relationship with His Father (See John 17) And what really takes this to the next level is that even His death and resurrection was about restoring us into a right relationship with God, and giving us the power to maintain a relationship with Him though the Holy Spirit.

To me, the bottom line of all these questions and all these thoughts is this: if everything is really all about Jesus (and I believe it is) and Jesus is really all about relationships (and I believe He is) then I need to get serious about relationships, and doing everything I can to make them meaningful.

I hope this encourages my friends to do the same — every day provides 24 hours of opportunities to elevate the level of communication!