Providing Elevation Opportunities from Lowest Level to the Highest

Archive for August 23, 2011

Why Caring is SO Important (Pt 1)

20110823-101151.jpg
Here’s another cliche, and although 3 days ago I said I don’t like cliche’s, this one is hard not to like: “People don’t care how much you know till they know how much you care.”

While I hold my 1 month old son, Boaz, as he fixes his eyes on mine, I have strong feelings of caring for him. I have to constantly support his head and I try to make him comfortable so he doesn’t fuss… I also have to teach my 5 year old warrior, Gideon, how important it is to handle the baby with care.

It’s pretty obvious why infants need such care: they’re helpless, have many needs, they’re small and really don’t know very much. What is probably not so obvious is how much care is needed in other areas of our lives, specifically relationships. I think all relationships start in an infant like stage. Some infants grow faster than others – (shoot, Bo’s in 3 month old clothes, while G’s still fitting in clothes that some 3 year olds can wear!) Of course some relationships grow faster than others, but even those require lots of care. I believe the amount of caring one does for a relationship has a direct impact on how fast it grows…

I don’t think many of us adults realize just how child-like some areas of our lives are. But even in adulthood we experience one stage of infant-hood after another: from marriage to buying a house, to having kids… These kinds of things take a lot of caring!

Perhaps there are relationships in your life that could use a little more TLC, and I hope this helps you realize just how important that caring is!

Tomorrow I’ll share how this applies to the most significant relationship we could ever have.

Peace,
Adam

Here’s a photo of Boaz, the look on his face says: “Please care for me” as Gideon’s stands on the couch getting ready to jump on us! (those are Giddy’s feet)20110823-101836.jpg