Providing Elevation Opportunities from Lowest Level to the Highest

What’s Really Important?

20110817-042634.jpg

This morning, I asked some of my 30 mighty men this question: on a scale of 1 to 10 where do you rank the importance of connecting (on some level) DAILY with other believers?

I’ve gotten about half a dozen replies, and most rank it (as do I) right after connecting with God and family at home (wife and kids). This is one of those “easy” questions though, and my follow up question to the few that replied is, “Are there any other things you rank that high, or higher than connecting with Christians?” so far, nobody has taken that bait. But I guess I’ll throw one out there: how about work?

Of course this doesn’t have to be an “all or nothing” proposition. When ranking things, there can be some “ties,” right? So maybe, for some, work can be AS important as talking to believers. But what I’m getting at here is that talking to other Christians about spiritual things doesn’t seem very important in my current work environment – even though I hear about a lot of people who go to church. There’s even a small group that I heard get together for Bible study…

Maybe some of you can relate to this kind of environment, maybe not. And maybe some will say, “yeah, but just because you’re a Christian doesn’t mean you have to talk about Christ all the time!” And I agree, not “ALL THE TIME” but I’m just saying, how about once a day, with just one person outside your home? (Actually, how about inside the home?)

I really think it’s important, (obviously – thats why I’m writing about it!). I’m hoping more people will start to think so too. I’m currently on a quest to find out who the Christians are and let them know I’m a Christian too, it’s actually kind of fun – especially as I explain my quest to those who are becoming a part of it. And when I find one of those Believers, I’ll go out of my way at work to ask them how it’s going… No really, how’s IT going? To me, yeah, IT is REALLY THAT important.

Peace,
Adam

PS: for those who want to dig deeper in this, consider Hebrews 10:24-25. Is it possible this passage isn’t just talking about going to church on Sunday?

20110817-042611.jpg

2 responses

  1. Good deal – supplementing your posts with scripture. I was actually going to suggest this. It might be helpful if you copied and pasted your scripture of choice with your preferred translation into the post as well. Some of us are lazy and never click on the link. 🙂 Love it though! Keep it up bro!

    August 18, 2011 at 12:28 PM

    • Yeah, bro! I guess I should post on the “importance of clicking on links” ha! Tomorrow I’ve already got my topic though.

      I usually add the links when I’m on my computer because it doesn’t work on the app, unless I type the HTML code for it… Good luck with that right?

      I guess I’ll take you’re recommendation and post them with preferred translation at the bottom though… Cool.

      August 18, 2011 at 12:51 PM

Leave a comment