Providing Elevation Opportunities from Lowest Level to the Highest

What’s Your Reason?

20110915-092736.jpg

In the picture I chose, why do you think this person is positioned the way he is? We can speculate that he’s praying, but maybe he’s just tired and resting, and what would be his reason in either case? We don’t know for sure unless we asked him and he told us – the truth.

I have a goal in my life, and this is one I’ve shared with a few, but not even all 30 of the Mighty Men have heard me articulate it yet. This goal is two fold, and I’ll describe it as quickly as possible – (after all, those re-posts were taking just as long as an original one, and I’m still pretty short on time these days…) The first part of my goal is simply to have a reason for everything I believe and do. Secondly, I want those reasons to be founded on Scripture.

Is this possible? If it is possible, should every “Bible believing Christian” also have this goal? I’m not 100% certain on either question. But this is where I am right now, and since having Biblical reasons makes sense to me in so many areas, why wouldn’t I seek them in ALL areas?

I could go on for a long time listing examples of how I attempt to put this in practice, but I’ll just give one from last night that came out of no where and really moved me… For some reason, I was reminded of this concept as Maria told me it was time to say prayers with Gideon. As usual he asked me, “Daddy, can you lay down with me for 10 minutes?” and instead of just saying, “sure buddy” like always, I asked him, “Why do you want me to lay down with you?” and he gave a muffled, face-in-pillow, but perfectly reasonable answer: “Because I love you.”

Isn’t that what God says to us when we ask Him why? And don’t you think it would bless Him if we said we were going to obey for the same reason: because we love Him? And the fact that the reason we love Him is that He first loved us amazes me even more! That reason also makes me feel like Blaise Pascal who said “The heart has it’s reasons that reason knows nothing of?”

I may not be able to explain all the reasons, but I pursue them because they help give meaning to life.  There are people out in the world with a million questions why, and if we don’t have reasons for what we believe, and why we live the way we do, then how will we answer them?

“Come let us reason together,” God says, “though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow…” (Isaiah 1:18)

Peace,
Adam

20110915-092742.jpgFull Disclosure: I got this book a long time ago and still haven’t read it… I should have gotten the audio book… But I think I’ll move it up on my list; I’ve just been focusing on books to be a better husband and father recently.  But I think this will probably help out in both areas – any suggestions???

Last “oh by the way” – I wanted to mention this in case anyone thought I was intending to justify my actions by scripture, which can happen if it’s taken out of context – BUT NO WAY!!! The purpose is to find what God’s Word says, interoperate Scripture with Scripture, and then match my actions to what the Scriptures say.

4 responses

  1. Luanne Johns

    Have you heard of judgement and mercy going hand in hand? When we lose everything and are at an all time low (judgement), we need a God to cry out to and then He shows mercy. That’s one reason we need God, to bail us out of our misery.

    September 16, 2011 at 11:01 PM

    • I think I’ve heard that, Mom, but always appreciate the reminder of concepts like that. That’s a great reason to show us our need, thanks for posting!

      September 17, 2011 at 12:59 PM

  2. Nikki’s reading Keller’s book now–I can’t wait until it’s my turn!

    September 17, 2011 at 10:19 AM

    • cool, well maybe ya’ll can share (two different bookmarks) have a little elevation of the level of communication while you’re at it! Lead on brother!

      September 17, 2011 at 1:00 PM

Leave a comment